The shock of finding another You!

Now ‘Bryan’, in my experience, isn’t a particularly common name! Lots of Bryant’s and O’Brien’s but not too many Bryan’s!  I was originally a Sutton before I married a Bryan 16 years ago this May!  I was a secondary school teacher for many many many years before I gave it up to become a full time mum!  Now don’t get me wrong as I adore my children but being a stop at home mum really wasn’t for me, I knitted, sewed, baked, drew, gardened and painted things, anything really to quench my desire to be creative!  I had lost my identity as a person and was rapidly becoming the mum of, instead of Emma Bryan.  So I did a dip pen calligraphy course which was lovely but somehow not enough. Based on the fabulous things that I learnt from that I decided to set up a small Cheshire Stationery business 7 years ago which has grown organically but is now doing well.  Hattie Boo Designs was born!  Not as it is today but at first we knitted scarves and baby hats, booties, made Fairy Bears, Lavender Fairies and Tooth Fairy Pillows and of course very hand made greetings cards.  Today the business is very much print and bespoke designs, letterpress, foiling and lovely watercolour designs…but more about that later!

 

Anyway – always keen to learn more I found Rachel Taylor’s Surface Pattern Design course on Twitter and decided on a whim that I would quite like to learn more and whipped out my credit card to subscribe!  Imagine my shock when on the very first day I was already on the course and ready a post posted by Emma Bryan!

 

There is really something quite wonderful to find someone out of the blue, through a chance meeting on a randomly chosen course that you have a huge amount in common with!  If I am really honest, my initial reaction was that I didn’t really like the idea of another me!  However, after ONE email to Emma Bryan I was not only ok with it but I felt like I had found a friend or a doppleganger, almost an ally or long lost relation.

 

To discover out of the blue that another Emma Bryan was out there, sitting at her computer, waiting for the course to begin, pen and paintbrush in hand, sewing machine at the ready was ACE!!!!  I have someone to share my thoughts and ideas about the course with, I hope that we can swop motifs and see what we do with them and well… you will have to follow this and find out!

One thought on “The shock of finding another You!

  1. Wowzer!! How bizarre is that??? or shud i say what are the chances of that happening i thought you were 1 in a million…. Emma seems not…cant wait for the next episode…excited!

Leave a Reply

